Is Coconut Milk Gluten Free? Your Ultimate Guide

//

Kurt Olsen

Coconut milk is a rich and creamy drink. It is often used in both culinary and baking preparations, and it is popular among individuals who follow a dairy-free diet. Is Coconut Milk Gluten Free? is a crucial question to ask before purchasing a carton or can of coconut milk if you are on a specific diet.

a jar of coconut milk.

What Is Coconut Milk?

Coconut milk is a creamy, thick drink produced from fresh or dried coconut. It has a smooth texture and is an excellent dairy-free milk substitute. Many persons with celiac disease, sensitivity, and those following a paleo diet avoid dairy. Coconut milk is an excellent substitute for conventional milk. Coconut milk is available in cans or in a container in the refrigerated department of most supermarkets.

Fresh coconuts (the most difficult method), shredded coconut, coconut butter, or coconut cream may all be used to make coconut milk. If you cannot avoid dairy products, a coconut milk beverage might be an excellent substitute. Many nations consider it a staple cuisine.

You can also create this delicious gluten-free coconut milk at home!

Answer: Is Coconut Milk Gluten Free?

The additional components may determine whether or not coconut milk is gluten free. Gluten-free canned coconut is available. Because it is solely composed of coconut and water, most canned ordinary coconut milk is gluten free. This also applies to canned full-fat and light coconut milk. Coconut, water, guar gum, or xanthan gum are the most common ingredients in light canned coconut milk. These are used to thicken the sauce. Coconut cream in a can is also gluten free.

It becomes more difficult when using chilled coconut milk or coconut heavy creams. Coconut milk in refrigerated cartons may include a variety of additives. Cane sugar, salt, vanilla, natural taste, artificial components and flavors, artificial colors, and preservatives are often added. It will also be determined by the brand of chilled coconut milk used.

Assume you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. In such scenario, examine the nutrition label on each brand’s carton to verify there are no gluten-containing components. All nutritional information, including an allergy list, should be included on the label. Companies in the United States are required to disclose the presence of gluten in their products.

For more information on additional dairy-free choices, check Is Almond Milk Gluten Free, Is Soy Milk Gluten Free, and Is Oat Milk Gluten Free.

Typical Refrigerated Coconut Milk Ingredients:

Refrigerated coconut milk is ideal for adding to coffee, sipping in a glass, and pouring over breakfast cereal. You’ll note that none of the more popular brands include sugar in their simple tastes.

  • So Delicious – Organic coconut milk (filtered water, organic coconut cream), organic guar gum, tricalcium phosphate, magnesium phosphate, xanthan gum, L-selenomethionine (selenium), vitamin A acetate, D2, zinc oxide, B12.
  • Silk – Coconutmilk (Filtered Water, Coconut Cream), Vitamin And Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Acetate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2, Vitamin B12), Dipotassium Phosphate, Sea Salt, Sunflower Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum, Ascorbic Acid (To Maintain Freshness), Natural Flavor.
  • Simple Truth – Filtered water, coconut cream, calcium carbonate, carrageenan, xanthan gum, guar gum, natural flavors, gellan gum, A palmitate, D2, B12.
  • Pacific Foods Coconut Milk – Ingredients: water, coconut cream, gellan gum, guar gum, natural flavor, sodium citrate, tricalcium phosphate, vitamin D2, xanthan gum.
  • O Organics Coconut Milk – Tricalcium Phosphate, Sea Salt, Organic Vanilla Extract, Gellan Gum, Xanthan Gum, Organic Guar Gum, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol).
  • Good & Gather Coconut Milk – Tricalcium Phosphate, Sea Salt, Organic Vanilla Extract, Gellan Gum, Xanthan Gum, Organic Guar Gum, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol).

Typical Canned Coconut Milk Ingredients:

When compared to refrigerated coconut milk, canned coconut milk has fewer ingredients and is thicker. In both sweet and savory dishes, I use canned coconut milk. Coconut cream in a can is often used to produce dairy-free ice cream. Some recipes call for organic coconuts, while others do not.

  • Native Forest – Organic Coconut Milk (Filtered Water, Organic Coconut, Organic Guar Gum, Organic Guar Gum). They also manufacture Simple Coconut Milk without guar gum.
  • Goya Coconut Milk – Coconut Milk, Water, Potassium Metabisulfite (Preservative).
  • O Organics Canned Coconut Milk –¬†Organic Coconut, Purified Water, and Organic Guar Gum.
  • Thai Kitchen Canned Coconut Milk – Water, Coconut, & Guar Gum.

Brands Of Gluten Free Coconut Milk:

  • Silk Coconut Milk (original and unsweetened)
  • So Delicious Coconutmilk
  • O Organics Coconut Milk
  • Good & Gather Coconut Milk (Target)
  • Thai Kitchen
  • Native Forest Coconut Milk
  • Pacific Foods Coconut Milk

Related Questions

  • Is coconut good for celiac disease?

    Yes, coconut has no gluten. Despite its name, the coconut is a fruit rather than a nut. It is derived from the coconut palm tree and is high in fat, fiber, and protein. All raw, unflavored coconut derivatives, such as coconut milk, coconut oil, coconut water, and coconut flour, are also gluten-free.

  • Is Asia coconut milk gluten-free?

    Simply Asia Coconut Milk is gluten free, dairy free, and vegan, with no added MSG, artificial flavors, or colors. Simply Asia Coconut Milk is an excellent dairy-free alternative for milk or cream in cooking and baking.

  • Is coconut cream lactose and gluten-free?

    Yes, coconut cream is free of both dairy and gluten. Coconut cream is prepared from the white flesh of mature, brown coconuts, which are a dairy and gluten-free fruit. Coconut cream is normally devoid of animal components, making it suitable for lactose intolerant or vegan people.

  • Is canned coconut gluten-free?

    Gluten-free canned coconut is available. Because it is solely composed of coconut and water, most canned ordinary coconut milk is gluten free. This also applies to canned full-fat and light coconut milk.

  • What 3 foods should someone with celiac disease avoid?

    Lifestyle changes to cope with celiac disease
    Eating a gluten-free diet necessitates a change in eating habits. A gluten-free diet excludes most grains, pasta, cereals, and processed foods. Because they often include wheat, rye, and barley.

  • Can IBS eat coconut milk?

    Coconut milk looks to be a healthy, dairy-free milk alternative suitable for everyone with IBS. Coconut milk, in particular, is a good alternative for individuals who are lactose intolerant or follow a low-FODMAP diet.

Contact Us

For more information or to make comments and suggestions, please contact:
Kurt Olsen
Dairy Development Coordinator, Missouri Department of Agriculture
Phone: (573) 291-5704
E-mail: [email protected]